10 facts about me and my writing

1. My best time for getting amazing ideas is when I’m lying in bed trying to go to sleep (which means, of course, turning on the light and putting on my glasses and finding a blank piece of paper and a pen, and then scribbling down the idea and putting everything away again!).

2. When I get stuck writing, I never use traditional writing prompts. Instead, I look at landscape photos to inspire me, or I listen to music. (The Lord of the Rings soundtracks always help!)

3. One of my favourite times of year is August, when Staples runs its back-to-school sale. 150-sheet packages of lined paper for 10 cents. Spiral-bound notebooks for 5 cents (no kidding!). I never could resist paper and pens in the first place, and certainly not when they’re dirt cheap to boot…

4. I used to write an outline for my stories and follow them strictly. Now I can’t stand anything more than a very general outline.

5. I write mainly on the computer, but I have a notebook for the book I’m writing now. I usually work on this story lying on my bed, wildly kicking my legs around.

6. I write sporadically most of the time – six months elapsed between writing Chapter 2 and Chapter 3 of Starscape.

7. I have a horrid habit of chewing on my tongue whilst I write.

8. By the time I was twelve years old, I’d completed at least two novels, as well as a book of short stories. I can’t remember a time when I didn’t love to write!

9. I used to have a huge obsession with historical fiction and wrote a ton of it back in my tweens. (None of it was particularly good, in case you’re wondering.)

10. One of my greatest skills in writing is staring at a blank computer screen. My second-greatest skill is getting distracted every few minutes.

4 thoughts on “10 facts about me and my writing

  1. “5. I write mainly on the computer, but I have a notebook for the book I’m writing now. I usually work on this story lying on my bed, wildly kicking my legs around.”
    I can totally see you doing that! It brings to mind a lot of memories myself…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. #10. Exactly. There is nothing quite so inspiring as a blank computer screen. And the process of staring at said computer screen is so calming that it brings to mind other, important things that are waiting around to be finished- such as that little bit of dust on top of the printer, the disarray of the paper laying on the desk and/ or table, the sudden dry tickling of the throat….

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

