Why am I self-publishing?

At some point, I’m sure there will be people who will ask me why I chose to self-publish Starscape. After all, this is so much more work in many different ways. I have to personally format my book’s interior, create a compelling cover image, write a summary, single-handedly promote my book… It might seem like a lot of needless, painful work when I could instead spend my time finding an agent to represent me to a traditional publisher. So why am I self-publishing instead?

My choice did not have to do with feeling like Starscape wasn’t good enough to be traditionally published. No, the actual reason I got into this was that I originally only wanted a print version of my book to give as gifts to family and friends. When I began the process, however, I thought, “Why shouldn’t the book be available for anyone else to buy if they’re interested?” I won’t deny that the thought of being a published author was very alluring – after all, that’s been my dream since I was a six- or seven-year-old scribbling my heart out on pieces of scrap paper.

Putting that reason aside, the concept of self-publishing in itself was really fascinating to me. I have always loved to organize, to control putting things in order. Self-publishing allows me to have complete control over nearly everything. The jobs I listed in my opening paragraph – formatting, cover design, promotion – are all under my supervision; I get to make my book look exactly as I envision it, and that extra work is entirely worth it! And the responsibility feels amazing.

If you are someone who’s thinking about self-publishing but are nervous about taking that first step, I would advise you to just go for it! There are some great print-on-demand self-publishing sites online nowadays, that guide you through the process and make it relatively easy. (I myself am using Lulu.) I wish you all the luck in the world!

2 thoughts on “Why am I self-publishing?

  1. If you can publish something yourself, why would you pay an agent? It seems to me to be cheaper. And then when you are promoting the book, you don’t have to worry about someone producing misinformation.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

