What I learned on vacation

Yes, it was my vacation… but when you were homeschooled from kindergarten on, it becomes a bit of a habit to learn all the time – whether you want to or not. I’ve managed to learn quite a bit in the last few weeks! Here are just a few of the ways my writing has benefited from my trip.

1. Someday I’ll have to write a book set in the Kentucky/Tennessee mountains. It may be real-life, or it may be a fantasy location based on the mountains, but either way, I will eventually. I may also eventually move there. It’s the most gorgeous area I’ve ever seen. Ditto for the mountains in Virginia.

2. All fantasy worlds should be populated with geckos to some extent. Geckos are adorable.

3. Florida in May is as hot as Ontario in August. Remind me never to raise the temperatures in my stories above 30 degrees Celsius – if I don’t like something, I shouldn’t do it to my characters.

4. Just because I have quiet time and feel like I ought to write, doesn’t mean I’m going to write. It doesn’t even mean I could write if I got around to it. However, regardless of the above, I did write one short story, one descriptive story-type piece, and several blog posts. Yay me!

7 thoughts on “What I learned on vacation

  1. Benita, don’t set the temperature above 30 degrees Celsius. You don’t like it.
    Benita, don’t set the temperature above 30 degrees Celsius. You don’t like it.
    Benita, don’t set the temperature above 30 degrees celcuis. You don’t like it.
    😏

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks to your post about the Eagles and my daily reading of the TheOneRing.Net, I’ve stumbled over to your blog. Your posts are brilliantly entertaining, but this one (specifically #4) is so true of me I can’t even tell you! And as for #1, that’s exactly what I’m doing right now and for the same reason – it’s stunning countryside! All the best with the Starscape.

    Like

What do you think?

