Prescription for a lazy brain

What do you do when your brain is going soft?

Well, read nothing but non-fiction for an entire month, of course!

Yuppers, you heard me right. For all of July, I intend to read not one word of fiction (unless it is absolutely necessary for some important reason). First, I’ll avoid the fabled summer intellectual slouch. Second, I’ll get around to reading a lot of those books that I’ve planned to read for ages but never have. These books include:

  • St. Thomas Aquinas’ Summa Theologica. Again, yes, you heard aright. I’ve been meaning to read this one for a while. Possibly not everyone’s typical summer reading – but I enjoy philosophy and theology.
  • Plato’s Dialogues. I had to read one in high school and (unexpectedly) found it interesting. At the time I planned to read the rest… but, like so many other books to which I had the same reaction, it went onto the shelf (literally).
  • Peter Kreeft’s Philosophy 101 by Socrates series. These are Socratic dialogues between Socrates and various philosophers, in which S. discusses the different philosophies with their originators. (Examples are Machiavelli, Marx, Kant, Hegel, etc.) Very cleverly done.
  • Finally, numerous random books that’ve been sitting on my bookshelf for a couple years.

Now, I’ll quickly make something clear – forgoing reading fiction doesn’t mean I plan to forgo writing fiction… 🙂

2 thoughts on “Prescription for a lazy brain

What do you think?

