Interview on Jim Vines Presents

Q: Benita…what made you become a writer?

A: I don’t believe I became a writer – I always was a writer! Perhaps it was the Little House on the Prairie books that first inspired me to get writing. I remember, when I was a little girl, writing a book about a girl named Lucy Larson. The story itself is long lost, but I know it began with her making a list of words that started with each of the letters of the alphabet. (I recall this because I thought myself very clever for using “Xerxes” rather than “xylophone,” my usual go-to for X.) Later in the story, she went blind; hence why I think Little House was one of my earliest inspirations.

Q: What is your typical writing day like?

A: I generally set aside some time in the afternoon during which I snuggle up in bed with my laptop. I need to be comfortable to write. Depending on my mood, I write as little as a sentence or as much as two or three chapters. With Starscape, I found it took me about an hour to write one page, so three chapters is about my outer limit for one sitting.

Q: Do you outline? If so, how extensive are your outlines?

A: For my first draft of Starscape, I had an outline. However, the first draft turned out pretty awful! When I wrote the new version of the story, I knew, in general, where the story was going in the end, and I had some ideas for the middle, which I wrote down; but other than that, I no longer try to outline. It seems to make my writing dull and lifeless. And after all, Tolkien didn’t outline – so why should I?!


Read the rest of the interview atΒ http://jimvinespresents.blogspot.ca/2015/09/indie-author-spotlight-benita-j-prins.html

4 thoughts on “Interview on Jim Vines Presents

    1. No, I don’t use Twitter. I have a prejudice, left over from childhood, against Facebook and Twitter. Perhaps someday I’ll get over it but for now I’m sticking with G+ and Pinterest. But thank you so much for tweeting my posts! I really appreciate it.

      Like

  1. Good interview πŸ™‚

    I agree with a lot of your methods. In fact, it seems we have quite a lot in common when it comes to the writing process. It is very raw and appears that you have not fallen into that trap that a lot of indie authors do in attempting to alter your writing style to suit the conventions of others.

    As you say, always write for yourself and never the audience. The aim of any writer is to surely *create* an audience from the strength and design of their words.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading! I also think we have a lot in common as regards our writing process. I actually believe that self-publishing gives me more freedom in my writing style. Being an indie author prevents a publisher saying that “they’ll publish my book IF I change this or that…” πŸ™‚

      Like

What do you think?

