Quick update!

I know this post is sickeningly, shamefully late. I’ve been busy with work and life recently and I couldn’t think of anything to blog about. A brief update on what I’ve been up to with Seascape and my other writing should suffice, I think. Who knows, maybe I’ll make a habit of doing monthly updates.

1. National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo)

For the first time, I’ve committed to NaNoWriMo, a.k.a. committed to writing 50,000 words of a novel in the month of November alone. This will force me to quit procrastinating over Seascape and get somewhere. If any of my readers are also writers and also doing NNWM, feel free to add me as a writing buddy – I dwell on the NNWM site under the incredibly creative username of Benita J. Prins.

2. Seascape

Yup… still sitting pretty at four chapters precisely… *blushes* At least I’ve finally figured out where they’re going next, but I’m saving the writing itself for when NaNoWriMo begins. I promised to post more character sketches but Einur is actually the only one I’ve written yet at all, so keep waiting.

3. Guest posts and interviews

If you haven’t already seen them, check out my guest post on Kellan Publishing’s blog and interview on Jim Vines Presents. I should have another one or two such things coming in the next few weeks as well.

4. What I’m reading

Currently I’m on a Michael D. O’Brien streak. Mr O’Brien is a Canadian writer of Catholic novels. If you don’t like relatively slow-paced, philosophically-inclined novels, you aren’t likely to enjoy his books; if you like relatively slow-paced, philosophically-inclined novels that will last you a while (most of his books are over two inches thick), I think you will enjoy them.

I started this streak with a reread of Plague Journal, an unusually short one, and continued with its sequel, Eclipse of the Sun. These two books chronicle the adventures of one family making their way through an interpretation of modern or near-future Canada. It was interesting because soon after I finished the latter, I had a moment (read: a couple hours) of despair watching the Liberal Party ascend to power in Canada – that was actually quite in line with the premise of EOTS. Am now in the opening chapters of Father Elijah, an apocalyptic novel which I’ve also read once before.


Well, that about covers things, I believe. And it’s definitely bedtime. Goede nacht!

(My apologies, I tend to lapse into different languages when I’m tired. This one is one of the few Dutch phrases my parents passed on to me. Its translation, I hope, is self-evident.)

3 thoughts on “Quick update!

What do you think?

