Wednesday’s Words of Wisdom

albert einstein quote.png

When I was little I LOVED fairy tales.

My dad, luckily for me, is a used bookseller (*ahem* a seller of used books), so he would bring home all sorts of interesting and rare books. We ended up with nearly a complete set of Andrew Lang’s Fairy Books – The Blue Fairy BookThe Red Fairy BookThe Brown Fairy Book… there were twelve of them in all and we were only missing a couple. The blue one was mainly well-known stories like Little Red Riding Hood, Cinderella, you get the idea; but the later ones were all new to me. I could sit for hours reading fairy tales even when I was thirteen. (I still would, honestly.)

I know I always say it was Tolkien who got me into fantasy, but really it was all those fairy tales. I credit them with my wretchedly active imagination.

(All right, so it’s only wretched at 2 AM and I’m trying to sleep. Other than that it’s okay.)

Why should you (and your kids) read fairy tales?

  1. Life lessons
  2. Hope
  3. Shared mythology
  4. What’s possible
  5. Cultural appreciation

Read the entire list of ten reasons to read fairy tales here: 10 Reasons Why Kids Need to Read Non-Disney Fairy Tales. I can’t recommend this article highly enough!


Note to self: Never use “fairy” so much in a post again. The word looks ridiculous now.

What do you think?

