Silmarillion Trivia

Who are the Lords and Ladies of the Aratar in order from greatest to least? What is the Elvish name for the Vale of Saruman? Name all of the Peredhil. What does Aiya Eärendil elenion ancalima mean? It’s questions like these that belong on a hardcore Tolkien quiz, not “What does the J.R.R. stand for?”

Silmarrillion,_Just_under_the_Cover.jpgThis, my friends, is a hardcore Tolkien quiz. Some of the questions are easier, but most of them are obscure details which no sane person should know. I hope you know your Silmarillion, because you will need it.

Highlight the text between the brackets to view the answers. No peeking before you’ve made your best guess, and keep track of how many right answers you get, because you’ll need them for scoring! And good luck. 😀

Silmarillion Trivia

  1. Where did Turgon first rule? [Nevrast]
  2. Who was the second son of Finarfin? [Orodreth]
  3. How long did it take to build Gondolin? [52 years]
  4. Who inspired Turgon and Finrod to build their hidden kingdoms? [Ulmo]
  5. What relation is Thingol to Galadriel? [Maternal great-uncle]
  6. Who was Celembrimbor’s father? [Curufin]
  7. What were the names of Gondolin’s imitations of the Two Trees? [Glingal and Belthil]
  8. What kingdom did Finrod build? [Nargothrond]
  9. What were Mandos’ and Lórien’s real names, respectively? [Námo and Irmo]
  10. Is Vána greater or lesser than Vairë? [lesser]
  11. What evil creatures lived in Nan Dungortheb? [spiders]
  12. Of whose kin was Eöl? [Thingol’s]
  13. What metal did Eöl devise? [galvorn]
  14. What name did Aredhel give her son? [Lómion]
  15. Who discovered the first Men to enter Beleriand? [Finrod]

Scoring

0-3 questions correct: You are Peregrin Took. Whilst in Rivendell, you preferred to spend time eating rather than studying Elrond’s books and maps.

4-6 questions correct: You are Bilbo Baggins. Years spent in Rivendell have taught you much of the lore of Arda.

7-9 questions correct: You are Gandalf the White, a Maia of Valinor. There’s little you don’t know.

10 questions correct: You are Manwë Súlimo, greatest of the Aratar. Manwë’s eye sees all that occurs in Arda.

Comment your score below, I’d love to know what you got! And share this quiz with your friends on social media to see who is the greatest geek among you.


If you enjoyed this quiz, I have exciting news: I’m planning a full-length ebook full of questions like these! (Only difference is, there will be a lot of way easier questions. 🙂 ) Sign up for my mailing list here to receive a free copy of Aratar, Peredhil, and Halflings, Oh My!: The Ultimate Tolkien Quiz when it comes out, as well as updates on my other books!

9 thoughts on “Silmarillion Trivia

  1. There is a reason I had already resolved to read the Silmarillion a second time!! It’s been a few years, and I have forgotten many things… I still managed to get seven right, but I felt like I did quite badly…so I was very surprised that counted as a reasonably high score. 🙂 Oh, and as to the questions at the beginning, I knew several of them….and it is so ironic that Vana and Vaire, who appeared in a later question, were the only two Valar I could not remember! 🙂

    Anyway, that was so fun! It was pleasantly challenging, which is so very rare in this department! Thanks for the awesome quiz, and I look forward to the entire book! How exciting! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Seven is a pretty great score considering the obscurity of some of these questions! I hadn’t read the Silm fully since I was twelve (so around half a decade 😉 ), just looking stuff up for essays and stuff, so I’m rereading it right through again and It. Is. Amazing. Unfinished Tales is awesome too, after you reread the Silm you should definitely try and get your hands on it!

      That’s funny, Vana and Vaire are the ones I always have trouble remembering!

      The rarity of this kind of quiz is partially why I undertook this project… I’m glad you liked it. 🙂 Search for Silmarillion quizzes on Sporcle.com if you’re interested – they have quite a few excellent ones!

      Like

      1. I have read Unfinished Tales as well, and my own copy, and I love it at least as much as the Sil! Both are wonderful, and I love how UT has more stories about Men than the Sil, which is mostly Elvish history. 😉 Tuor is one of my all-time favorite Tolkien characters because of his story in both of those.

        Good for you for making your own!! I’ve tried those quizzes on Sporcle before, and they are the only ones besides yours that have been a fun challenge instead of much too easy. I’m so glad you found them, too!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. It would be unfair for me to compare UT to the Silm at this point since I remember so little of the latter… The Silm is like a history book (which is a good thing imo) and UT has a lot of fascinating essays about small details like the palantiri and the Wild Men. My favourite chapter is the Gladden Fields one, though. The first time I read UT I freaked out when it described what Aragorn found in Orthanc. It was really cool!

          We should take over all quiz sites by adding crazy hard Tolkien quizzes. 😀

          Like

What do you think?

