T(W)WT: The Other Faramir

I got sick on Thanksgiving Monday, and so of course I missed TWT yesterday. I have to confess it literally never crossed my mind all day Tuesday, I was so tired. But I skipped last week too, so I’m making up for it today with a Tuesdays (Wednesdays) with Tolkien post.

I discovered the coolest thing last time I read Unfinished Tales. Turns out there was a prince of Gondor named Faramir, and while that doesn’t necessarily sound like anything much – Faramir son of Denethor was named after Faramir son of Ondoher, so what? – there is actually a very, very cool connection between him and the Faramir we know.

 

800px-stefano_baldo_-_wainriders
“Wainriders” by Stefano Baldo

 

In short, his story is the same as Éowyn’s.

In his time, there was a law in Gondor that at least one of the King’s heirs had to stay in Minas Tirith during a war, so that the line would remain secure. Hence Prince Faramir, as the younger of two sons, was supposed to stay behind as his father and older brother rode out to defend Gondor from the Wainriders. But he had other ideas. He disguised himself and went with them. His disobedience ended in disaster: he, along with his father and brother, end up killed, so really it’s ultimately this Faramir’s fault that the line of Gondorian kings ended.

Coincidence that Éowyn marries this guy’s namesake?

6 thoughts on “T(W)WT: The Other Faramir

  1. Hope you’re feeling better!
    I keep on wondering that there are rare pure coincidences when it comes to Tolkien. Everything is so thought-out, there are so many subtle connections. It’s just amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m doing a lot better today – thank you!

      Sometimes I have to wonder if Tolkien is accidentally reusing elements of his earlier work or deliberately connecting them. There is so much depth – it’s unbelievable what a detailed fantasy world he invented!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Great to hear that! Autumn is beautiful, but it seems to be telling on many people.
        I read an opinion once that he could easily turn his own oversight and reusings into subtle connections and peculiar details. So I won’t be surprised if it’s a mixture of both. But the depth IS great in any case.

        Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

