Book Sacrifice Tag (shamelessly stolen)

Lover of Lembas did this tag and I thought it was cool because it’s about books we don’t like for once instead of books we love. There are lots of books I wouldn’t object to burning (although they will all remove themselves from my memory as soon as I try to answer these questions) 😛 So I hereby begin the BOOK SACRIFICE TAG.

1) An Over-Hyped book: Let’s start this off with a Zombie Apocalypse! Let’s say you’re in a bookstore, just browsing, when BAM! ZOMBIE ATTACK! An announcement comes over the PA System saying that the military has discovered that the zombies’ only weakness is over-hyped books. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you really hated do you start chucking at the zombies knowing that it will count as an over-hyped book and successfully wipe them out?!

Let’s start out controversially (it’s what I do best after all) with Harry Potter. I will admit it was a good enough story in some ways, but the writing was simply bad. I didn’t like the characters either – they were whiny and disrespectful and disobedient (and they were rewarded for it, of all things). The best thing about the series is that it’s seven thick, heavy books that will do a lot of damage to the zombies.

51kzzjmmokl-_sx328_bo1204203200_2) A Sequel: Let’s say you’ve just left the salon with a SMASHING new haircut and BOOM: Torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

Sequels, hmm; I try to avoid creatures of Morgoth. Yet everyone is forced to encounter them at some point, even I. And so I select Mother-Daughter Book Camp, really a sequel to the Mother-Daughter Book Club series. It’s not that it was horrible but it just wasn’t up to par with the happiness of the rest of the series. (Also there was not enough Darcy and Jess and there was too much Stewart angst. Can’t believe I used to like him.)

3) A Classic: Let’s say you’re in a lecture and your English teacher is going on and on about how this classic changed the world, how it revolutionised literature and you get so sick of it that you chuck the classic right at his face because you know what? This classic is stupid and it’s worth detention just to show everyone how you feel! What Classic did you chuck?

Although I would never ever chuck a book at a teacher (at anyone, come to that), I shall agree with Lover of Lembas that A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court was a terrible book. It had so much potential and I honestly didn’t think the author of Tom Sawyer could screw up so badly…

He did.
4) Your least favourite book of life! Let’s say that you’re hanging out at the library when BAM global warming explodes and the world outside becomes a frozen wasteland. You’re trapped and your only chance for survival is to burn a book. What is the book you first run to, your least favourite book of all life, what book do you not fully regret lighting?
There are So. Many. Let’s go with Twilight. And Harry Potter. And my Spanish history text.

I tag anyone and everyone who has ever hated a book.

5 thoughts on “Book Sacrifice Tag (shamelessly stolen)

  1. Over-hyped? Yes, definitely Harry Potter. Classic that doesn’t deserve to be? So many possibilities. Death of a Salesman. The Great Gatsby. Honestly, so much of what we read in English class is so bizarre/dead boring I wonder if they would fade from public consciousness if they weren’t read in English class. Least favorite ever? Definitely Twilight. Haven’t read it, but you don’t need to taste a bad apple to know that it’s rotten.

    Can we do this with movies?
    Over-hyped: Titanic and Avatar. I haven’t actually seen either one (no desire to), but I’ve read enough about them to know the general plots. I love the *actual* Titanic history, but James Cameron’s bloated, melodramatic, inaccurate, Celine Dion-scored soap opera does it no service. Avatar is an eco-preachy smurf version of Disney’s (PC) Pocahontas.
    Sequel: Since it says sequel and not prequel I guess I can’t use the Star Wars prequels. Still, there are so many bad sequels out there it’s hard to choose. I guess I’d say Avengers: Age of Ultron because, as a Marvel fan, this one was a particular letdown.
    “Classic”: Gone With the Wind. I watched 5 minutes and turned it off. It’s another three-hour rich-poor love triangle against a tragic backdrop. It’s “Titanic” set in the Civil War.
    Least favorite ever: Haven’t seen them, but I’ll say the Twilight movies because the books were so bad.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, so many of the books in English class are hideously boring or at least weird. For example, I am currently reading The Warden by Anthony Trollope for British Lit, and the plot is the warden of a charity hospital getting paid supposedly more than he should and his moral struggle between whether he should accept what the church is paying him or leave his position because the pay is unjust. (Very basic outline, it is quite a bit more complex than that…) Oddly enough, I’m actually sort of enjoying it, but it’s super bizarre.

      I haven’t read Twilight either, but I’ve read an excellent analysis of it and I know I don’t need to X( Excellent idea to do this with movies!
      Over-hyped: Ughhh I agree about Titanic. I only saw the first five or ten minutes before I shut it off. Honestly I think the movie is rather disrespectful considering the extent of the tragedy, yet Cameron turned it into a lusty romance fest. I would also say The Avengers. I don’t hate Marvel movies (I liked Thor well enough, and Captain America was fun too if extremely violent), but I found The Avengers pretty boring.
      Sequel: I’d go with The Hobbit but like SW it’s technically a prequel. So instead, let’s say Voyage of the Dawn Treader. They basically changed the point of the story and everything else besides!
      Classic: My Fair Lady. I did not enjoy it at all.
      Least favourite ever: Ya know, this is one of the hardest questions to answer about anything. I’ll just say Twilight too. Again, haven’t seen them, but it’s Twilight, and it has Robert Pattinson in it, so…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Another English class book I hated: Catcher in the Rye. There must be a dozen others, but they were so dull I’ve forgotten them by now (*realizes it’s been almost a decade since I graduated high school* *feels old*)
        I actually love The Avengers (the first one), but “Age of Ultron” (the second one) was pretty bad.
        Yeah, what was the point of adding a cliché romance to the Titanic story? It just shoves the actual tragedy into the background to serve as nothing more than a set for a fake story so the writers can capitalize on a pre-existing tragic plot device without having to think of one on their own. It’s like making a romance out of 9/11. Just…why? I have a huge rant against this film but I won’t digress into that now. Its only lifeline (so to speak) is Bernard Hill as Captain Smith. Where was Gondor when the Titanic sank? 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I haven’t read Catcher in the Rye – good thing about homeschooling is I probably missed a lot of the worst high school English class books 😀
          The thing about Titanic is, if someone made that movie except using 9/11 as the tragedy there would be huge outrage, and rightly so. Neither one is something that should be capitalised on as a moneymaker. I would have no objection to a tragic, fictionalised film about the Titanic per se (or 9/11 for that matter) as long as it was focussed on the event itself, honouring the people involved. It could celebrate the heroism of many of the passengers. But I object on principle to a self-serving romance storyline.
          Haha, Bernard Hill is definitely the plus side of the film 😛

          Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

