So, how do you like it?

I had some pretty great feedback regarding a new title for Seascape, and I ended up deciding on Sea of Crystal, Sea of Glass. To be honest, I kind of fangirl over this title because it’s awesome.

In any case, a new title calls for a new cover of course, so I played around with the original design. I wanted it to be familiar to people who read it under the original title, but I added an element that I’d considered putting in the original cover but never did: a chess king. I’m very pleased with the result; the chess piece adds a kind of focal point and relieves the monotony of the colours in the background.

My favourite thing about this, though, is the titling. In my humble opinion, it’s beautiful! And it makes the cover look very YA Fantasy, which is good.

The one thing I’m not sure about is the blurb/review/whatever at the bottom. It balances the cover out but I’m not sure about the white text, and it doesn’t show up well in a darker colour.

I’d love to hear your opinions and suggestions in the comments. 🙂

front-cover-5

6 thoughts on “So, how do you like it?

  1. I like the title change, Benita. Much better fit. Great!

    However… I’m not a fan of the title font or the format. I think it could sit better on the cover. The colour is also a little dark. The quotation in white stands out a lot more and the flat design gives it more impact than the bevel.

    The chess piece is an interesting addition, but I would have liked to have seen it overlayed with the background colour, almost as if it was beneath the sea itself.

    Just my opinion. What is most important at the end of the day is that you like the finished article and not what anyone else thinks 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like the new title a great deal more as well. It’s much more unique!

      A lot of people commented on how the text was difficult to read, and in the cover I ended up using I think it is easier to see. (You can see it if you go to Amazon – I’m on my phone right now and can’t get the direct link.)

      The font is certainly very different from the original, but I think this font sets it apart more as a YA book. I did rearrange it a little because it wasn’t sitting quite right.

      Thanks for all your comments! 😉

      Like

What do you think?

