30-Day Flash Fiction Challenge

I’ve been running low on blogging inspiration lately, as you may have noticed. Searching around for ideas, I noticed that one of my blogger friends is doing a 30-day Phantom of the Opera challenge right now, and what better to do than something that can last a month or more?! There are so many 30-day challenges, though, and I wanted to pick something special – not something specific to one fandom, or done a million times before (a.k.a. a LOTR one).

When I found this flash fiction challenge, I knew it was the perfect one. And “challenge” is certainly the right word for it – short stories have never been my forte, so this is a little out of my comfort zone. It’ll also challenge me to do more writing; with all that’s been going on in my life lately it’s not been easy to find the time or the motivation to write.

Some of the prompts I will tweak a bit to make into proper stories – such as #5. I wouldn’t bore you with a list of supermarket items. 😛 And some of them I’ll change to things I’m more familiar with. And ones that are supposed to be about the writer specifically (like #’s 9, 10, 11, etc.) I will fictionalise.

I should have the first story up within the week! I can’t wait to see where this goes.

5 thoughts on “30-Day Flash Fiction Challenge

  1. The Lazy Writer’s 30-Minute Challenge:

    #1: I’ll pick Return of the King, with the last line “Well, I’m back.” Well, I’m back. The lines at the grocery store were insane.
    #2: Frodo lost a finger. That’s kind of important.
    #3: Literally or figuratively?
    #4: Bob called his travel agent. “Hi, I want to go to Syria.”
    “Sorry, we can’t insure you for a journey like that.”
    #5: I pick X. 1. Xanthum gum. 2. ? Well, that was easy!
    #6: My sister would. She uses xanthum gum a lot.
    #7: My DNA
    #8: This is Sarah’s grad school Finnish professor writing. I can’t tell her life story because I didn’t know her until she took my class a few years ago, and I don’t know what she’s done since. Oh well.
    #9: Plastic dinosaurs
    #10: Succinctness
    #11: A Maine coon cat named Daisy. She was big and furry.
    #12: Saturday
    #13: I’ve never been to Costco and don’t even know what this question is talking abo
    #14: She should open a history book and then check the year
    #15: Bob. He wanted to go to Syria and was accused of being a terrorist sympathizer. In reality, he just wanted to see Palmyra.
    #16: The Ghost of Christmas Present. Because he comes with a month’s worth of free foo.
    #17: Mr. Smith used to be a high school teacher, but now he works in a fast food restaurant. “Finally, I’m making some real money!” he exclaimed as he flipped the burgers.
    #18: A kid in one my high school classes drove too fast and seemed to think traffic lights were optional.
    #19: I’ll go with just 5. 1. Stop procrastinating 2. (coming soon) 3. (coming soon) 4. (coming soon) 5. (coming soon)
    #20: Not Syria
    #21: I found “Senior defense research analyst” with the description “Perform scientific and technical analysis of submarine systems and potential designs.” I’m guessing my life would be a little like Jack Ryan in “Hunt for Red October.”
    #22: It’s one of the keys that arms the missiles on the Red October. Captain Ramius gave it to me after he took it from the political officer.
    #23: I’d be one of those Neanderthals from The Far Side. A day in my life would involve making fire and throwing spears at mammoths.
    #24: Thanks to jetlag and time zones, I went over 48 hours without sleep after I got back from a trip to Israel. I didn’t know the meaning of the word “loopy” until then.
    #25: The neighbors saw the guy across the street walking his dog.
    #26: Laziness
    #27: The 2008 and 2012 elections were near-death experiences
    #28: “She’s lazy”
    #29: Ebenezer Scrooge. He was a jerk.
    #30: The earth collided with its satellite in a horrendous explosion. The silver dust of moonlight settled coldly on the night.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol this is great!! #30 is beautiful. 😀

      Hunt for Red October was a neat movie! It’s been a while since I’ve watched it but I really enjoyed it.

      (Augh and I totally agree about the 2008/2012 elections. I was pretty young but even I knew Obama was going to be trouble 😄 )

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

